Skip to main contentSkip to navigationSkip to footer

Cancellation terms: compare refund method and policy scope

Refund percentage alone can mislead: a full-value voucher is different from money returned to your payment method. Compare deposit treatment, category, supplier deductions and organiser-cancellation rules. No universal flexibility winner is assigned.

Cash, credit and unknowns are different

Below are Trippy readings of published policy pages, with review dates. They are not the booking contract. Category, payment method, season and trip-specific exceptions can change the outcome. We do not calculate a refund or name a most-flexible organiser.

BookOfTrips publishes an initial-booking non-refund rule alongside percentage deductions on an advance. Byko separates short and long trips and describes credit refunds. Bikat separates trekking and mountaineering. Those distinctions prevent a reliable one-number ranking.

Byko Journeys

Organiser policy source · Reviewed · reviewed summary

Separate short, long and international schedules. Published general terms also restrict transfers; verify replacement exception in writing.

free cancel window
unclear: No fully free cancellation established: booking amount excluded even in zero-deduction bands. Source section: General Rule; duration-specific tables
refund tiers
stated: Short trips (up to 3 days): 0/50/70/80% deductions in bands labelled up to 60, 59–45, 44–25, 24–7 days; under 7 days no refund. Long/international: 0/50/75% in bands labelled up to 75, 74–45, 44–30 days; under 30 days no refund. Boundary wording must be confirmed. Source section: Sections 1–3
non refundable amount
stated: Booking amount excluded; gateway/tax deductions also apply except stated UPI exception. Source section: General Rule; Payment Gateway Charges
refund method
stated: Travel credit, one-year validity; do not assume cash. Source section: Refund Method
date change
unclear: Change requests by email; eligibility for traveller-requested date changes not resolved. Source section: How to Cancel or Modify
transfer
unclear: Cancellation page permits qualifying fully paid replacements 7+ days out, excluding booked transport; general terms prohibit transfers. Confirm which applies. Source section: Participant Replacement; general terms
operator cancelled
stated: Full-value one-year voucher; no cash refund stated for organiser cancellation. Source section: Rules Applicable for Cancellations/Changes by Byko Journeys
force majeure
stated: Future trip credit; extra rerouting/stay/transport expense borne by participant. Source section: Force Majeure Policy

Bikat Adventures

Organiser policy source · Reviewed · reviewed summary

Cash eligibility excludes some discounted, shifted and partly paid bookings. Trekking BRS ≤6 and mountaineering BRS ≥7 differ; boundaries and voucher clauses need confirmation.

free cancel window
unclear: Voucher no-deduction bands exist; cash cancellation has deductions. This is not free cash cancellation. Source section: 3.1.3–3.1.4; Refund Slabs
refund tiers
stated: Trekking cash deductions: 5% in the band labelled up to 60 days, 10% at 60–30, 50% at 30–10, none refunded under 10. Mountaineering: 10% in the band labelled up to 60 days, 30% at 60–20, none refunded under 20. Published boundary overlaps require confirmation. Source section: Refund Slabs
non refundable amount
unclear: Depends on category, payment and cancellation window; no single fixed amount. Source section: 3.1.3–3.1.4
refund method
stated: Eligible cash or voucher; restrictions apply to discounted/shifted/part-paid bookings. Source section: 3.1.3–3.1.4
date change
not stated: No generally applicable change eligibility extracted. Source section: 3.1
transfer
stated: Replacement requires paid booking and at least 10 days remaining; original Volvo/train seats excluded. Source section: 3.1.2
operator cancelled
stated: Before departure: replacement or refund; outside force majeure eligible cash/voucher choice; amounts paid by voucher remain subject to voucher rules. Source section: 3.2
force majeure
stated: Before departure: voucher rather than cash, stated 12-month validity. After departure: no refund liability stated. Source section: 3.2–3.3

JustWravel

Organiser policy source · Reviewed · reviewed summary

Category/season-specific tables and emergency override; several schedules are images. No universal cash-refund percentage extracted.

free cancel window
unclear: Category-dependent; deposit treatment and emergency overrides prevent a universal free-cancellation statement. Source section: Cancellation Policy; Bypass policy
refund tiers
unclear: Category tables, seasonal exceptions and emergency/vendor conditions differ; verify applicable chart. Source section: Cancellation Policy
non refundable amount
stated: Booking deposit is not cash-refundable; eligible credit-note rules are separate. Source section: Cancellation Policy
refund method
unclear: Cash, voucher and credit-note treatment varies by category and event. Source section: Cancellation Policy; Risk-Related Cancellation Policy
date change
unclear: Some rescheduling requests require 30+ days and availability/vendor approval; not universal. Source section: Risk-Related Cancellation Policy
transfer
unclear: Credit-note transfer is described; this does not establish traveller replacement for a booked trip. Source section: Credit Notes
operator cancelled
unclear: General terms mention refunds, while risk-related cancellations specify alternatives/credit without original-method refund. Confirm cause/category. Source section: General; Cancellation Policy; Risk-Related Cancellation Policy
force majeure
stated: Alternatives or credits under stated conditions; vendor approval and participant-paid extra expenses apply. Source section: Risk-Related Cancellation Policy

Kipepeo

Organiser policy source · Reviewed · reviewed summary

Holiday cancellation terms; additional supplier charges can change the final amount.

free cancel window
not stated: No free-cancellation window stated in reviewed section. Source section: Cancellation Policy
refund tiers
stated: 20% holiday-cost forfeiture plus hotel/transport cancellation charges; balance depends on supplier recovery. Source section: Cancellation Policy
non refundable amount
stated: 20% of holiday cost plus applicable supplier charges. Source section: Cancellation Policy
refund method
not stated: Payment method for eligible refund not stated. Source section: Cancellation Policy
date change
not stated: No general eligibility extracted. Source section: Cancellation Policy
transfer
not stated: No general transfer entitlement extracted. Source section: Cancellation Policy
operator cancelled
stated: Ordinary company cancellation: money paid refunded. Force-majeure exception differs. Source section: Cancellation by Kipepeo
force majeure
stated: Alternatives first; if declined, supplier charges plus ₹3,500 per-person administration deduction apply before departure. Source section: Cancellation by Kipepeo; Force Majeure

Wanderhythm

Organiser policy source · Reviewed · reviewed summary

Short general terms; no detailed pre-departure refund schedule found.

free cancel window
not stated: No free-cancellation window found. Source section: Refunds & Cancellations
refund tiers
not stated: No dated pre-departure refund tiers found. Source section: Refunds & Cancellations
non refundable amount
not stated: No general deposit amount extracted. Source section: Payment & Booking
refund method
not stated: No refund method established. Source section: Refunds & Cancellations
date change
not stated: No change eligibility established. Source section: Departure & Schedule
transfer
stated: Bookings cannot be transferred. Source section: Payment & Booking
operator cancelled
not stated: No general organiser-cancellation refund rule extracted. Source section: Refunds & Cancellations
force majeure
unclear: Weather/politics/emergency delays and changes disclaim liability; refund entitlement not resolved. Source section: Unforeseen Circumstances

BookOfTrips

Organiser policy source · Reviewed · reviewed summary

Booking-amount wording conflicts with percentage deductions on the advance. Do not calculate a refund entitlement from this summary.

free cancel window
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
refund tiers
unclear: Page lists advance deductions of 50% at 30 days, 75% at 15–30 days and 100% at 0–15 days, alongside a blanket initial-booking non-refund statement. Amount basis and boundary overlaps need written confirmation. Source section: Cancellation policy
non refundable amount
unclear: Initial booking is described as non-refundable, but subsequent advance-based schedule is ambiguous. Source section: Cancellation policy
refund method
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
date change
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
transfer
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
operator cancelled
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
force majeure
stated: Cancelled weather/government-restricted activities: alternatives attempted; no refund for affected activities stated. Source section: Cancellation policy

Ghumo India Community

Organiser policy source · Reviewed · reviewed summary

General terms restrict cancellation/transfer; dedicated refund page makes remaining payment conditional on itinerary and suppliers.

free cancel window
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
refund tiers
unclear: No universal percentage schedule. Flight/hotel and activity terms depend on final itinerary and supplier. Source section: Flights; Hotels; Activities & Experiences
non refundable amount
stated: Booking advance retained; only eligible remaining payment considered. Source section: Booking Amount (Non-Refundable)
refund method
unclear: Eligible refund processing may take 90 working days from cancellation or supplier confirmation, whichever later; method not established. Source section: Refund Timelines
date change
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
transfer
unclear: General terms call bookings non-transferable unless otherwise stated; trip exceptions require confirmation. Source section: Terms section 10
operator cancelled
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
force majeure
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy

Toalt

Organiser policy source · Reviewed · reviewed summary

Published general terms and cancellation page; verify policy against the particular booking. Contact details differ between page body and footer.

free cancel window
stated: Seven days after booking confirmation, including deposit, only while departure is more than 30 days away. Source section: 1. The 7-day cooling-off
refund tiers
stated: After cooling-off: over 45 days, balance refunded and deposit becomes credit; 30–45 days 50%; 15–29 days 25%; under 15 days none. Confirm amount basis. Source section: 2. Cancelling after that
non refundable amount
stated: Outside qualifying cooling-off, deposit becomes 12-month trip credit rather than ordinary cash refund. Source section: 3. Deposits become credit
refund method
stated: Original payment method, stated 7–10 working days; EMI through payment partner. Source section: 5. How refunds are paid
date change
stated: General terms describe one free switch up to 45 days before departure, subject to availability. Source section: Terms section 5
transfer
stated: General terms describe free name transfer if replacement meets requirements. Source section: Terms section 5
operator cancelled
stated: Published choice of full refund including deposit or another trip; stated to include weather, permit and minimum-group cancellation. Source section: 4. If we cancel
force majeure
stated: Published organiser-cancellation choice includes weather/permits. Verify current booking-specific exceptions. Source section: 4. If we cancel

Trek Karo India

Organiser policy source · Reviewed · reviewed summary

Different Sahyadri and long-trek rules, overlapping time bands and holiday exceptions. General terms prohibit transfers while cancellation page suggests replacements.

free cancel window
unclear: No unconditional cash-free cancellation established; coupon and cash deductions differ. Source section: Cancellation Policy
refund tiers
unclear: Long-trek cash deductions of 15% at stated 30-day band and 50% at 30–20 days; coupons and overlapping under-20/under-15 rules differ. Do not infer a single schedule. Source section: Backpacking Expeditions and Long Treks
non refundable amount
stated: Initial booking non-refundable; additional insurance/train/agent charges and holiday conditions apply. Source section: Sahyadri; Important Note 1
refund method
stated: Eligible monetary or coupon options depend on category/window; stated processing 2–5 working days. Source section: Cancellation Policy; How to Cancel
date change
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
transfer
unclear: Replacement recommendation and general non-transferable terms conflict; obtain written confirmation. Source section: Cancellation Policy; Terms section 17
operator cancelled
stated: Before departure: refund excluding rail/bus cancellation fees; insufficient participation allows shift or refund. Transport failures have separate expense-based terms. Source section: Cancellation by Trek Karo India
force majeure
stated: No refund for listed force-majeure cancellation after trip starts. Source section: Cancellation by Trek Karo India

Bhatakna

Organiser policy source · Reviewed · reviewed summary

Multiple category and event-specific schedules on one page; inconsistent cancellation channels and transfer language. Confirm exact applicable section.

free cancel window
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
refund tiers
unclear: Long/weekend cash and coupon schedules differ; final event-specific percentage rules also appear. No single operator-wide tier schedule established. Source section: Our Cancellation and Refund Policy; Specific terms & conditions
non refundable amount
stated: Advance described as non-refundable; confirm event-specific booking amount and fees. Source section: Our Cancellation and Refund Policy
refund method
unclear: Cash-to-source and coupon alternatives vary by category and window. Source section: How to cancel your trek; category schedules
date change
unclear: Weekend section describes discretionary transfer with surcharge; other event section prohibits date transfer. Source section: Sahyadri/weekend schedule; Specific terms & conditions
transfer
unclear: General prohibition differs from participant-replacement/event clauses. Source section: General terms; How to cancel your trek
operator cancelled
stated: Before departure: refund excluding train/bus cancellation fees; minimum-participation cancellation may permit event shift. Transport issues are expense-dependent. Source section: In the rare event that we cancel a trek
force majeure
stated: No refund liability stated once departure from first start point has begun; before-departure rules differ. Source section: In the rare event that we cancel a trek

Barefoot Trekkians

Organiser policy source · Reviewed · no policy found

Homepage reviewed; no dedicated cancellation link or applicable schedule located. Not evidence of free cancellation.

free cancel window
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
refund tiers
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
non refundable amount
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
refund method
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
date change
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
transfer
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
operator cancelled
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy
force majeure
not stated: No generally applicable rule established in reviewed source. Confirm with organiser. Source section: Cancellation policy

Method, freshness and limits

Analysis uses Trippy’s normalized upcoming catalog, retrieved . Source checks range from 2026-10-10T21:27:19Z to 2026-10-15T12:47:54Z for this inventory slice. Retrieval time is not a fresh organiser check.

Each listing contributes once to price statistics, regardless of how many dates it publishes. Only resolved, positive INR starting prices enter the median; conflicting or missing prices are excluded. The median is the middle sorted value, or the mean of the two middle values. Room sharing, transport, taxes, price unit and inclusions may differ; these are not equivalent per-person quotes.

Departure counts are distinct listing/date pairs within the inclusive 30-day India-calendar window. Several listings can describe the same trip or package variants; no cross-listing event deduplication is claimed. City aliases are normalized; regions stay distinct. Spiti matches can come from source destination or title, with match basis exposed in the API. Short-trip duration excludes unknowns and does not independently account for overnight travel.

Policy reviews expire after seven days. Automated evidence checks do not renew editorial dates, resolve contradictory clauses or guarantee unchanged terms. Ask the organiser for the version applicable to your booking.

All analyses · API and MCP documentation · Sources and corrections